A Moment of Madness

So last Wednesday I signed up for Tough Mudder in Scotland. Here is the link for people who don’t know what I am talking about: http://toughmudder.co.uk/events/scotland-2014/. Essentially it is an 10-12 mile run in mud with a lot of crazy obstacles thrown in which again involve mud and freezing water.

Am I insane? Probably but at the same time it looks like a hell of a lot of fun. My training will involve finding mud and crawling about in it, of course with a lot more, but that alone makes it an awesome event. I am a mixture of terrified and excited, just hoping can get my fitness up to a good level. Have managed to persuade one of my friends to do it with me so will have a training buddy and the hope is find a few more people to join up with to make a team.

Not only have I signed up to do this but the actual event the week before I climb Ben Nevis at night so a lot of training is going to have to happening in the next few months. Will be spending a lot of my time outside getting wet, cold and tired – can’t wait! Do need to be hitting the gym a lot as well; especially to work on my upper body strength a fair bit to be able to do monkey bars. Variety is going to be the key to training for this which should hopefully mean it stays interesting and don’t get too bored by it.

Plan to take photos of myself each week to hopefully start to notice a difference. Took some today; that in itself is a good incentive to get out training.

Plan for this week coming is:

Sunday – Hill walk

Monday – Gym

Tuesday – Circuits outside

Wednesday – Gym

Thursday – Circuits outside

Friday – Skipping

Saturday – Rest Day

As well as this Kat and I are also going to be doing a routine in the flat with dumb bells and exercises to work on abs every evening.

Now that I have signed up for this there is no thinking that I can’t be bothered going to the gym or go outside in bad weather I have to train. I am looking forward to getting started and pushing myself.

Tough mudder

 

Image from http://www.run4cancer.org

2 thoughts on “A Moment of Madness

Leave a Reply

